THE SUICIDE MUSEUM - A NOVEL

À propos

A billionaire Holocaust survivor hires a writer to uncover the truth of Salvador Allendes death, and they must confront their own dark histories to find a path forward--for themselves and for our ravaged planet.

An expansive, engrossing mystery for fans of Isabel Allende, Jeff;VanderMeer, and Bill McKibben, from the acclaimed author of Ariel needed money, and Joseph;Hortha;had it. Bound by gratitude toward the late Chilean president and a persistent need to know whether murder or suicide ended his life during the 1973 coup, the two men embark on an investigation that will take them from Washington DC and New York, to Santiago and Valparaiso, and finally to London. They encounter an unforgettable cast of characters: a wedding photographer who can predict a couples future; a policeman in pursuit of the serial killer targeting refugees; a revolutionary caught trying to assassinate a dictator; and, above all, the complex women who support them along the way, for their own obscure reasons.;
;;;;Before Ariel and Joseph can resolve a quest full of dangers and enigmas, they must help each other come to terms with guilt and trauma from personal catastrophes hidden deep in the past. What begins as an intriguing literary caper unfolds into a propulsive, philosophical saga about love, family,;machismo, fascism, and exile that asks what we owe the world, one another, and ourselves. By;boldly mixing fiction and reality, imagination and history,


  • Auteur(s)

    Ariel Dorfman

  • Éditeur

    Other Press

  • Distributeur

    Olf

  • Date de parution

    05/09/2023

  • EAN

    9781635423891

  • Disponibilité

    Disponible

  • Nombre de pages

    688 Pages

  • Longueur

    22.7 cm

  • Largeur

    15.4 cm

  • Épaisseur

    3.5 cm

  • Poids

    833 g

  • Support principal

    Poche

Ariel Dorfman

ce célèbre écrivain est né à Buenos Aires
en 1942. Politiquement contre l'État en place, la famille Dorfman est contrainte à l'exil en 1944 et part vivre à New York, où le père d'Ariel travaille pour les Nations unies.Malheureusement, la chasse aux sorcières des années 50 force la famille à émigrer une nouvelle fois, en direction du Chili. Profondément marqué, Ariel Dorfman écrit un
premier roman qui lui vaut l'exil à l'arrivée au pouvoir de Pinochet. Dès lors, son oeuvre tourne principalement autour du thème de la dictature et des tortionnaires. Ariel Dorfman a reçu de très nombreux prix littéraires. Sa pièce
de théâtre La Jeune Fille et la Mort fut portée à l'écran par Roman Polanski. La Vengeance poilue est son premier livre pour enfants.

empty